Keeping The Love Alive

 We’ve officially been together for one year.

This is the longest relationship I have ever been in. My last longest relationship was 8 months, but there were a lot of just really bad months. With Scott, we have a lot of really good days. Honestly, it feels so amazing to be with someone who is my best friend. If you can’t say that your significant other is your best friend then you’re missing out.

We have so much fun together. It doesn’t matter if were sitting on the couch watching a movie, grocery shopping, or singing in the car. I love spending time with him.

For our one year, my morning started off with flowers and pictures at my door. It put the biggest smile on my face.
He picked me up at my house around 5:30, where he gave me my first gift of the night. It’s a penny with a heart around the year 2015, and it says “One down”. Then there’s a bigger silver piece that says, “Forever to go”. It is by far the cutest little thing ever.
For dinner, my original plan was to go to Osaka, but we ended up going to Ah-So instead. This is where he gave me a second gift, an ASU t-shirt! I love GCU, but being a resident of AZ kinda makes you an automatic Sun Devil.
It’s where they cook food for you on a large stove top.
It is so dang delicious, and it was a good treat.
He was in charge of plans afterward.
We drove to Tempe Town Lake where we had a candle lit dessert with my favorite piece of cheesecake from cheesecake factory! This is where he gave me a THIRD gift.
Tickets to my very first ASU football game! I was so excited!
Overall it was such an amazing day, and it was so special
I feel like it really re-sparked something in us.
I can’t wait to see where the next year takes us.

When Scott and I first started dating, everyone told me that the butterflies would go away, all the cute dates stop happening, and you just get used to each other. Honestly, this is when the love dies. Scott and I continue to be weird, continue to surprise each other. We had a talk a couple nights before our 1 year, and I asked him if there was anything he would like to change. He said that we’ve gotten good at saying i love you, but that we should start working on showing that we love each other. Just yesterday I surprised Scott by walking him to class, and something so small put the biggest smile on his face. It’s the little things that keep the love alive. Never stop surprising one another. Don’t stop going on cute dates. The relationship doesn’t have to get boring.
Leave a Reply

