A Student’s Guide to a Healthy Grocery Trip

After almost 2 1/2 weeks of having zero food in my fridge, I finally made the trip today! I got everything I needed to hold me over the next couple of weeks – proteins, veggies, lots of fruit, yogurt, and some yummy bars for a quick snack! If you want to be more aware of the foods you are buying, start looking at the nutrition labels! The yogurt I buy? low carb. Almond milk? I buy the one with the least amount of sugar. The carbs will add up quickly and will completely impede your weight loss. Have I cut carbs completely from my diet? No. I eat complex carbs – unflavored oatmeal, whole wheat toast, rice cakes, brown rice, and whole grain pasta … those are honestly the only sources of carbs in my kitchen. The 21 Day Fix focuses more on getting in more protein and vegetables into your diet. The carbs in my daily diet serve as sources of energy rather than to fill me up. FullSizeRender-2.jpg

Let’s start with the tip shelf! (Keep in mind too that some of this stuff is my roommates!):

CarbMaster yogurt. This stuff is magical. One, its flavored BUT low in sugar and they have only 5 grams of carbs (compared to other flavored yogurt that can have close to 20). I like vanilla and the black forest cake! 

Second Shelf: Eggs (I eat these for breakfast about every other day), Jenny O turkey bacon, humus (which goes really great with carrots), thin sliced chicken breast fillets (they were on sale for buy 1 get 2 free), blueberries, and blackberries (which were on sale for 87 cents!)

Third shelf: Nature’s Own 100% whole wheat bread, pepper crusted chicken breast from the deli, a giant bag of broccoli and a giant bag of spinach (my roommate and I share these bags since they’re so huge!)

In the drawers I have my Italian blend salad mix, packets of baby carrots, zucchini, apples, and grapes! I also bought some frozen strawberries so I can throw them into my smoothies! I also bought a Cashew Cookie Lara bar. I love this brand of bars because their ingredients are all natural and they’re pretty filling too! Plus the flavors are sweet, so they help with my sweet tooth 🙂 

Also, since I have an obsession with chai’s, I bought a sugar-free blend and then some half and half! I can’t wait to try it out and see how it tastes over some ice! The regular chai blend had 20 grams of carbs.. and with trying to watch my weight carbs are not my friends.. and I would rather eat real food than waste my carbs for the day on a chai. All of these came to only 50 bucks : ) If the prices are too high – do not buy! You will waste so much money on expensive items and it will add up very quickly!

I hope this gives you an idea of what to get when doing your shopping! : ) If you have any questions just comment down below and I’ll get back to you!

Leave a Reply

