Why waking up early is beneficial

It’s 7:56 am, and I’ve already completed two online assignments that are due Wednesday and Friday and got in touch with my professor to meet with her today. I’ve only been up since about 6:30. I did not set an alarm to wake me up that early, but my body decided it was awake and ready for the day. I have noticed that when my body decides it wants to wake up that I can’t normally fall back asleep anyways. If I decide to try and rebel against my natural body clock, I end up laying in my bed, with my eyes shut, but not mentally asleep.

〉 Increase in productivity

I don’t know why, but for some reason I am always so much more productive in the morning! I feel like I want to accomplish everything all at once! And no, I haven’t had a coffee. (I’ve actually decided to stop drinking coffee, but I will write about that some other time). Try getting up around 6:30, make a list of everything you have to do for the week, and pick out the stuff you can get out of the way! I just got two assignments done that I would of had to worry about later this week… and since I have my first exam this week as well as no school on Friday, I really did not want to waste my time doing stupid online assignments when I could be studying and relaxing. 

〉 Better test scores

According to a study done by Texas University, students who woke up early, consistently, actually had higher test scores and overall grade points compared to those who slept in and slept a LOT. 

〉 Healthier YOU

If you sleep in, you’re probably sleeping through breakfast, meaning that you are screwing with your metabolism. If you eat a late lunch, that most likely means you’re going to have a late dinner. Eating 3-4 hours before you go to bed isn’t the best if you’re trying to lost weight… all that food just ends up sitting in your stomach since you’re body isn’t using it for energy as it does when you eat breakfast and your brain uses that food as it’s energy source. 

〉 Time to workout!

I love getting my workouts done in the morning! It seriously makes me feel so much better throughout the day! Your body releases natural endorphins when you workout, and those endorphins help to make you to feel not only happy, but relaxed. As a college student, workout out helps me to keep my stress levels low, so when I start out my morning with a workout, I notice myself being less stressed throughout the rest of my day. 

 

Resources:

Sanders, H. (2015). Top 7 benefits of waking up early. Retrieved from https://www.healthambition.com/benefits-of-waking-up-early/

4 thoughts on “Why waking up early is beneficial

Leave a Reply

