Why I stopped drinking coffee

I didn’t start drinking coffee until I started college. For the first time ever, I was able to stay super energized when I was feeling tired, and I loved it! After a while, I started experiencing symptoms that were honestly terrifying, and at one point I thought I was going to have to go to the emergency room. I’ll never forget that night. I had just had a coffee and was about to go out for a girls night. About 25 minutes after drinking my coffee, I felt like my heart was beating out of my chest, I was dizzy, and I felt extremely dehydrated. Coffee is a diuretic, so dehydration is bound to happen, regardless. The heart palpitations though, those are not normal… neither is tachycardia (heart rate above 100 beats a minute) while just walking around. 

Over the last 2 or 3 months, I think I’ve had maybe 2 coffees. Both times I have experienced the same symptoms.. tachycardia, heart palpitations, and this feeling of , “At any moment I feel like I could just pass out”. After this happened after my second coffee, I decided that coffee isn’t worth feeling like crap. So, I’ve officially stopped drinking coffee. Now, I just drink chai or green tea, and to be quite honest, both are far better testing and less harmful than coffee. If you experience any of these symptoms after drinking coffee, I highly suggest you stop drinking it…

And if you have yet to try a chai, GO TRY ONE.

Leave a Reply

