Starting an adventure with yoga

For the last couple of months, the pain in my lower back has gotten so bad that it’s pretty much impossible for me to sleep on my back. I have to sleep on my side… which leaves me tossing and turning all night long. Yesterday, I got a full body massage and oh my goodness… my lower back felt like pins and needles were digging into it. I did not realize how much stress I keep in my upper body as well. I woke up this morning feeling sore all over, especially in my spine and my neck.

For the last couple of weeks, I have been trying to incorporate more yoga into my routine. Being a student, I like to find ways to release stress as well as how to stay more clear minded. There have been many times where I find myself so overstressed that I just break down crying because there’s so much going on in my mind that my brain actually begins to hurt. I first started doing yoga a couple months ago, it’s actually a part of the 21 day fix program (every 7th day on the workout schedule). I enjoyed the yoga, but the yoga session in the fix is more of a workout rather than a relaxation session.

This morning, I decided to go to Youtube to try and find a yoga session. I typed in, “Yoga for lower back pain”, and thousands of videos popped up! I clicked on a video by “Yoga With Adriene”, as I have watched one of her videos before, and I really liked her! I just finished the video a couple of minutes ago, and I feel amazing. I feel so stretched out, so open, and very “connected”. I know that sounds super cliche… and like super “YOGI”, but something about yoga really helps my mind just feel so at peace but yet prepared for a hard day’s work. My back feels very stretched out and open and my hips feel open as well. My masseuse yesterday said that I have bad lower back pain due to tight hips and hamstrings and that the best way to release that pain is with stretching. I think I will continue this adventure with yoga, as it not only is helping with my stress but also with my body’s alignment. 

Here is the the video I watched 🙂

Leave a Reply

